Skip to Main Content

COVID-19: Spring 2023 Semester Guidelines

Surry Community Honors HSE and AHS Graduates


A total of 84 students earned their High School Equivalency (HSE) and Adult High School (AHS) diplomas from July 1, 2018 to June 30, 2019 from Surry Community College.

Seventy-nine High School Equivalency students and five Adult High School program students graduated and were recognized during the 30th annual HSE/AHS Graduation held at the Surry Community College Gymnasium in Dobson on May 17.

Sabrina Terry, SCC Dean of Student Services, was the guest speaker and College President Dr. David Shockley presented graduates with their diplomas.

The High School Equivalency graduates are: Alyssa Flanagan of Ararat; Kaylyn Pitts of Belews Creek; Hannah Abell Rich, and Andrew Walker of Boonville; Jacob Howell of Clemmons; Chad Jenkins, Bobby Lowe, Jackeline Esmeralda Najera Grajeda, Claudia Romero Chavez, Michelle Ryan, Yuritzi Sanchez Garcia, and Sarah Southard of Dobson.

Laken Burchette and Alexis Keaton of East Bend; Samantha Adams, Katelyn Bryant, Morgan Carmer, Mildred Liana, Amber Lytton, Maria Rosas Perez, Yury Sambrano, German Solorzano Alcazar, and Nicholas Staley of Elkin. Marvin Cook, Marissa Shew, April Vernon, and Timothy Vestal of Hamptonville; Alysha Byrd Testerman, Christina Caudill, Quinten Hatcher, Isaac Holbrook, and Martha Zuniga Calderon of Jonesville. Kimberly Scales of King; Wesley Amato, Jr., Hailey Bastedo, Sebrena Bowman, Michelle Creed, Robert Flores, Angel Gillispie, Donithan Hawks, Kade Kiger, Samantha King, Bryson Kornbrust, Brandon McKinney, Ashlyn Parker, Emma Pequeno, Raina Pruitt, Ethan Ring, Brandi Stiles, Richard Tadlock Jr., Tera Vawter, Austin Whitaker, and Morgan Wilson of Mount Airy.

Monica Church and Gracie Wilcox of North Wilkesboro; Brittany Brock, Haley France, Joylee Luallen, and Nisa Perry of Pilot Mountain; Michael Woods of Pinnacle; Josiah Jarvis of Roaring River; Amy McGee of State Road; and Connie Breaker of Westfield. Maritza Tellez of Winston-Salem; Canaan Cardwell, Brittney Dixon, Scott Hardy, Jr., Nevin Hunter, Stephanie McKnight, and Codie Royal of Yadkinville.

The Adult High School graduates are: Robert Goins, Jr. of Yadkinville; Alexandria Reavis of Pilot Mountain; Edgar Rodriguez of Mount Airy; AmberMae Snow of Dobson; and Ashton Swaim of Jonesville.

Alysha Renee Byrd Testerman received the Max Blackburn Scholarship, and Amy Lynn McGee received the Ester McMillian Scholarship, and Kade Garnett Kiger received the Libby Maye CNA Scholarship.

Surry offers two assessment options for earning a High School Equivalency Diploma. Students can take either the General Educational Development (GED®) Test or the High School Equivalency Test (HiSET™). Successful passage of either test results in an HSE Diploma issued by the North Carolina Board of Community Colleges. Surry offers free preparation classes to give students an opportunity to gain the knowledge and skills needed to successfully pass the test. Online preparation classes are also offered.

Surry's new Adult High School program offers an alternative to the HSE program for adults who did not graduate from high school. Anyone lacking a few credits from high school can enroll in the online program in order to acquire a high school diploma. The AHS program was established by Surry with affiliation agreements with local school districts. An AHS diploma is awarded by the number of credits and specified courses adopted by the State Board of Education as the requirement for graduation from the public high school.

For more information about Surry's High School Equivalency programs, contact Jennifer Pardue at (336) 386-3674, Nichole Shores at (336) 386-3441 or Mary White at (336) 386-3261.

Want to Learn More?

Choosing a college is an important decision, and we’re pleased that you’re interested in Surry Community College.