Skip to Main Content

SECU Foundation Awards Scholarships to Six Students


The State Employees Credit Union (SECU) Foundation recently awarded scholarships to six Surry Community College students. The presentation was made at the college's May Board of Trustees meeting.

The six students receiving the scholarships were Kristin Apple of Mount Airy, Valerie Brown of Yadkinville, Christopher Kirkman of Mount Airy, Michael Miller of Elkin, Bobby McCormick of Dobson and Kevin Wiles of Yadkinville. Those attending the SECU presentation were Kristin Apple and Valerie Brown as the other students had prior commitments.

The two SECU employees making the presentation were Julie Edwards, Dobson branch; and Scott Hudson, SECU Foundation Board Member, Dobson branch. Dr. George Sappenfield, SCC Vice President of Corporate and Continuing (CEE) Education; and Margie Collins, SCC's CCE Training and Program Specialist, represented the college.

The SECU Foundation established the SECU “Bridge to Career Program ” in 2018 to help remove financial barriers for students seeking to obtain state-regulated or industry-recognized credentials through the Workforce Continuing Education Division of their local community college that lead to sustainable wage careers within their local communities.

Annually, the SECU Foundation will provide a total of six $500 scholarships to all participating community colleges. One of the requirements to be eligible for the scholarship is to be enrolled in a short-term training program, 96-hours or more, that leads to a state-regulated or industry-recognized credential and is offered through Continuing Education at a community college.

Want to Learn More?

Choosing a college is an important decision, and we’re pleased that you’re interested in Surry Community College.