Skip to Main Content

SCC Announces Zachary Towe Scholarship Winners


Surry Community College’s Creating Successful Learners Program has announced the winners of the Zachary Towe Scholarship. Towe was a student in the Creating Successful Learners Program before his passing in December of 2017. The scholarship program was put in place by The United States Hackers, a golfing team of which Mark Towe, Zachary’s father is a member.

The 2019 scholarship winners are: Adam Dalton, Gregory Galyean, David Head, Beth Hamel, Belle Rash, and Ryan Hardee of Mount Airy; Tiffany McArthur of Elkin; Amy Sisk of Pinnacle; and Alex Rocha of Dobson.

The scholarship covers the cost of the Aktion Club Convention held each year at Camp Walter Johnson in Denton. The students competed in various competitions during the three-day event held earlier this month. The Aktion Club was created for adults with special needs through Kiwanis International.

Creating Successful Learners is a part of Surry’s Adult Basic Education (ABE) program designed specifically for adults with developmental disabilities and autism. The focus of these classes is to improve the individual’s independence by acquiring necessary basic life skills from math and reading to job development.

For more information on ABE classes for those with developmental disabilities or brain trauma, contact Nichole Shores at (336) 386-3441 or For more information, specifically on Surry’s Aktion Club, contact Diane Barnett at

Want to Learn More?

Choosing a college is an important decision, and we’re pleased that you’re interested in Surry Community College.