Skip to Main Content

PTK Chapter Receives Five Star Designation


The Alpha Xi Tau chapter of Phi Theta Kappa at Surry Community College has received designation as a Five Star chapter.

This designation requires the chapter to have completed an Honors In Action Project and a college project, as well as involvement in service projects at the local, regional and international levels with Phi Theta Kappa. This SCC chapter was one of 18 total college chapters in the Carolinas region to meet these requirements.

In 2021, the chapter raised over $3,000 for Hope Chapel Orphanage in Ghana as their Honors In Action project. The money raised was a result of multiple fundraisers, including prize raffles and yard sales, and the awarding of a grant from Phi Theta Kappa to help their efforts.

Other initiatives recently taken by the chapter include creating cards for senior citizens and veterans, raising awareness of child labor in Africa and cleaning local river access points. The chapter also received a second grant from Walmart Giving for $3,000, which allowed members to start a student outreach center as part of their college project.

Surry Community College’s PTK Chapter Co-advisor, Kayla Forrest says, “Our PTK students have demonstrated their desire to help both our local communities and the world, and their diligent efforts to serve others have been impressive and inspiring.”

Phi Theta Kappa is the premier honor society recognizing the academic achievement of students at associate degree granting colleges and helping them to grow as scholars and leaders. The society is made up of more than 3.5 million members and nearly 1,300 chapters in 11 nations.

For more information about Phi Theta Kappa and their projects, contact PTK's faculty co-advisors Dr. Kathleen Fowler at (336) 386-3560 or or Kayla Forrest at (336) 386-3315 or or go to You can also follow the local chapter on Facebook @surryPhiThetaKappa.

Want to Learn More?

Choosing a college is an important decision, and we’re pleased that you’re interested in Surry Community College.