Skip to Main Content

Financial Aid Alert

Urgent! Don't miss the financial aid priority deadline: July 15.

Learn More |

Forty-Five Area Students Receive Edward M. Armfield, Sr. Foundation College Scholarship


Forty-five students were awarded scholarships by the Edward M. Armfield, Sr. Foundation College Scholarship Program during a ceremony that took place at the Shelton-Badgett North Carolina Center for Viticulture & Enology on the campus of Surry Community College in Dobson on May 16. These scholarships, over a four-year period, will contribute $846,000 to the educational pursuits of the scholars.

SCC President Dr. David Shockley welcomed the scholarship recipients, their families and friends, along with school administrators from local high schools. SCC Foundation Executive Director Sheila Franklin introduced guest speaker Trenton Day, who is a 2017 Armfield Scholarship recipient who graduated with honors from Appalachian State University, earning a Bachelor of Science Degree in Geography. Day is now employed as a Mechanical Engineering and Plumbing Inspector for the City of Winston-Salem. He spoke about the significance of the scholarship and how it made a difference in his being able to attain his educational pursuits and current career.

image of a person standing at a podium and speaking
Trenton Day, a 2017 Edward M. Armfield, Sr. Foundation Scholarship alumnus, was the guest speaker at the May 16 Edward M. Armfield, Sr. Foundation scholarship presentation held at Surry Community College.

Mindy Oakley, Executive Director of the Armfield Foundation, announced the winner of the Bedford Cannon Award. The award, created in honor of Cannon who is a nephew of Edward M. Armfield and Armfield Board of Directors, Emeritus, is presented each year to the Armfield Scholar with the most outstanding scholarship application. It provides an additional $2,000 scholarship per academic year provided a 3.0 GPA is maintained. Lydia Teachey of Elkin High School was announced as this year’s recipient of the Bedford Cannon Award.

Also, in attendance from the Armfield Foundation were Board of Directors Adair Armfield (Chair) and David Sprinkle, and Scholarship Coordinator and Bookkeeper Diana Hedgspeth.

The 2024-2025 Edward M. Armfield, Sr. Foundation College Scholars are as follows:

East Surry High School: Abygail Caro, Logan Hedrick, Chloe Koons, Nate Parrish, Mary (Katie) Pell and Tristen Sechrist. Caro also received the John C. McKenzie Award, which is named in honor of a respected employee of Mr. Armfield and is awarded to the top-ranked scholarship applicant from East Surry High School and includes an additional $1,000 scholarship per academic year.

Elkin High School: Rilei Rice, Ragan Speer, Lydia Teachey, Granger Teachey, Abigail Thomas, Mallory Wall and Leah White. Lydia Teachey was also awarded the Bedford Cannon Award.

Millennium Charter Academy: Natalie Cockerham.

Mount Airy High School: Hannah Khuri, Evan Naranjo, Caleb Read and Connor Sechrist.

North Surry High School: Charlotte Banfield, Kayley Dickens, Kaylee Edwards, Brayden Hall, Benjamin Hiatt, Callie Robertson, Sarah Sutphin, Josie Tompkins and Peyton Utt.

Surry Central High School: Sierra Crabb, Kaylin Moody, Nathan Narehood, Karlie Robertson, Kylee Schendel, Aubrey Southern and Kayla Wall.

Surry Early College High School of Design: Maleena Cormier, Yurdia Gallegos-Echavarrieta, Christopher Hernandez-Carrillo, Kimberly Perez Hernandez, Emmanuel Ramirez Montoya and Sarah Stevens.

Surry Community College: Devin Ayers, Adanna Gonzales, Selena Islas, Christopher Sizemore and Derek Vannieuwkoop.

The Edward M. Armfield, Sr. Foundation has awarded over $14 million in scholarships to deserving students graduating from the public high schools in Surry County since 2005. Each year, scholarships are awarded to students at East Surry High School, North Surry High School, Surry Central, Mount Airy High School, Elkin High School, and Millennium Charter Academy. Scholarships are given to students who will be attending four-year colleges and universities or Surry Community College, and to students at Surry Community College who will be transferring to a four-year school to complete their undergraduate degree.

Scholarships range in value from $1,000 per year for Surry Community College attendees to $12,500 per year for students attending higher-cost private colleges and universities. Scholarships are renewable for one additional year for Surry Community College students or students transferring from Surry Community College to a four-year institution, and for three additional years for students attending four-year schools immediately out of high school.

Want to Learn More?

Choosing a college is an important decision, and we’re pleased that you’re interested in Surry Community College.