Skip to Main Content

COVID-19: Spring 2023 Semester Guidelines

Dr. Wayne C. Matthews' Life Honored with Named Scholarship


The Clemmons Community Foundation announces the creation of the Wayne C. Matthews Continuing Education Award in memory and honor of Dr. Wayne C. Matthews, former Director of the SCC-Yadkin Campus.

The award is for an adult, selected from applications, who is enrolled or planning to enroll in any program at the SCC-Yadkin Campus. Instrumental in the development and growth of the Yadkin Campus of Surry Community College, the financial assistance honors and remembers Dr. Matthews and his career-long passion and work. He worked tirelessly to build the Yadkin Campus and is noted for knowing every square inch of the facility and programs, having helped build both.

Yadkin County Adult Students, Announcing The Wayne C. Matthews Continuing Education Award, up to $2,500. Apply by: May 6, picture of Wayne and logo of Clemmons Community Foundation

It was his dream to grow the Yadkin facility from a “Center” to a full “Campus." That designation occurred in the very year of his passing. Andy Anderson, Senior VP of Skyline Bank in Yadkinville and member of the Surry Community College Board of Trustees, said, “There is no better tribute to our friend and community leader than this scholarship. The Dr. Wayne C. Matthews Continuing Education Award will inspire a Yadkin County adult to achieve his or her career goals.”

The SCC-Yadkin Campus offers a variety of programs ranging from occupational certifications and credentials to coursework leading to an Associate’s Degree. The $2,500 continuing education award in Dr. Matthews’ name is available for all programs leading to a credential or certification.

Sandi Scannelli, President/CEO of the Clemmons Community Foundation comments on the Board’s decision, “Dr. Matthews provided so much support and guidance to the foundation’s programs over the last few years. He was an active and enthusiastic partner in the formation and launch of the Shore Scholars program, which has become a model college and career access program for other school districts. He also was an active member of the Yadkin County COVID-19 Response Team of the foundation. Because of his wide community involvement and leadership, he knowledgeably informed and guided the grant decisions of the team throughout the pandemic.”

Maria Poindexter Vernon, Foundation Board Chair adds: “the number of organizations and individuals Dr. Matthews influenced and touched is beyond measure. It is our Board’s way of expressing gratitude and honor for his life, his deep impact in Yadkin County, and our work. Like so many others, we miss him and know the full community celebrates his life with us.”

Yadkin residents who have graduated high school a year or more ago and wish to attend a program at the SCC-Yadkin Campus may apply online at Deadline for applications is May 6, 2021.

Questions or further information? Call Greg Keener, Program Officer, (336) 403-0433. Individuals and organizations who wish to help support this scholarship, contact Sandi Scannelli, President/CEO, (336) 407-3460.

Want to Learn More?

Choosing a college is an important decision, and we’re pleased that you’re interested in Surry Community College.