Skip to Main Content

Making a Positive Impact on Our Students & Community

Guided by the college’s vision, mission, and strategic plan, Surry Community College's leaders work to ensure the college supports Surry and Yadkin County’s growth and quality of life and provide pathways in which students can be successful and reach greater economic mobility.

A community college education provides the skills and knowledge one needs to successfully compete in the workforce. Whether you are starting a new career or looking to improve job skills, Surry Community College stands ready to assist you.

Dr. David R. Shockley
President, Surry Community College

College Leadership

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is the governing body of Surry Community College. The Board of Trustees meets at least 10 times a year, usually on campus. Trustees are responsible for acting on behalf of their fellow citizens and institutional founders as their individual consciences and best judgment dictate.

A governing board's fundamental responsibility is to chart the institution's course and ensure that the institution has the resources it needs to fulfill its mission. The board also has a unique fiduciary role in finance and budgeting, in endowment and investment management, and in preserving and expanding physical resources. In addition, the board ordinarily is called on to participate in fundraising activities.

  • Mr. George L. "Andy" Anderson, Jr – Yadkinville, NC
  • Mr. R. Edward "Ed" Carter – Yadkinville, NC
  • Mrs. Alice F. Connolly, Vice-Chair – Mount Airy, NC
  • Mrs. Debby S. Diamont – Pilot Mountain, NC
  • Mr. Sean Dyer - Elkin, NC
  • Mr. Timothy A. "Tim" Dockery – Dobson, NC
  • Mrs. Barbara H. Harrell – Elkin, NC
  • Mr. Edwin R. “Eddie” Harris – State Road, NC
  • Mrs. Lynn W. Kennedy, Chair – Elkin, NC
  • Mr. James M. "Jim" Lewis – Mount Airy, NC
  • Mr. Floyd E. "Gene" Rees – Mount Airy, NC
  • Mrs. Deidre B. Rogers – Mount Airy, NC
  • Ms. Emma Jean Tucker – Mount Airy, NC
  • Mr. Earlie Coe – Dobson, NC

  • Mr. Frederick G. Johnson, College Attorney
  • Dr. David R. Shockley, President
  • Ms. Cheryl Fielder, Executive Assistant to the President and Board of Trustees

President's Cabinet

The President’s Cabinet serves as the executive management team for the president to provide effective leadership for the college. The Cabinet serves to provide advice and counsel to the president, to prepare items for consideration and decision making, and to coordinate activities and work across divisions.

  • Dr. David Shockley – President
  • Dr. Candace Holder – Vice President of Academic & Student Affairs
  • Mr. Tony Martin – Vice President of Financial Services

Want to Learn More?

Choosing a college is an important decision, and we’re pleased that you’re interested in Surry Community College.