Tuition and Fees
Surry Community College offers educational opportunities at minimal cost to students. Charges are set by the North Carolina State Legislature and are subject to change.
The following are tuition rates for curriculum courses only (Note: Self-supporting classes may exceed the standard state-established tuition rate).
In order for out-of-state students to qualify for the in-state tuition rates, Surry Community College must have either a company check made out to Surry Community College or an official authorization from the employer giving us permission to bill them for the entire in-state tuition balance. If paying by a company check, you must have a letter on official company letterhead stating that you are an employee for that industry or business.
|Student Type||Cost Per Credit Hour||Total Tuition|
|Residents||$72.00||$1,152.00 (maximum tuition charge)|
|Non-Residents*||$264.00||$4,224.00 (maximum tuition charge)|
In addition to tuition, curriculum fees also apply. While SCC attempts to keep student costs as low as possible, some fees are necessary to maintain adequate services. These fees can be refunded only in cases of class cancellation.
|Student Activity||Semester||$3.25/credit hour (maximum $32.50)|
|Distance Education||Course||$10.00/DE course|
|Developmental Reading/English Textbook||Class||$100.00|
|Developmental Math Textbook||Class||$200.00|
|NCLEX Readiness||Courses: NUR 111, NUR, 112, NUR 113, NUR 114, NUR 211, NUR 212, and NUR 213||$105 per course|
** Applicable if a diploma is ordered. Non-refundable
Non-Curriculum Tuition and Fees
The following tuition and fees only apply to Certification (CEU) programs and Personal Enrichment and Job Training classes. Adult Basic Education, High School Equivalency, English as a Second Language, Compensatory Education and Family Literacy classes are offered tuition free.
|Course Hours||Tuition||Technology Fee|
Registration and tuition fees are set by the North Carolina General Assembly and may change. Anyone repeating an occupational course for the third time will be charged an additional fee. A student who wishes to withdraw from a course must contact the Corporate and Continuing Education office prior to or on the 10% point of the scheduled hours of the class to be eligible for a refund. A 75% refund will be given if the student requests the refund in a timely manner.